Oct 19, 2019  
2019-2020 Undergraduate/Graduate Catalog 
    
2019-2020 Undergraduate/Graduate Catalog

Academic College Calendar



Dates are subject to change.  For a more detailed listing, see the Official SUNY Plattsburgh Academic Calendar 

Fall Semester 2019

Friday, August 23, Saturday, August 24   Residence halls open for New Students only (8 a.m.), Residence halls open for rturning students (8.a.m.)
Sunday, August 25   New student advising and registration 10 a.m.
Fall 2019 add/drop for continuing students begins 5:15 p.m.
Non-matriculated student registration reopens 6:00 p.m.
Monday, August 26   Fall semester classes begin
Sunday, September 1   Fall 2019 course add/drop ends 11:30 p.m.
Monday, September 2   Labor Day (classes in session)
Friday, September 20   Last day to apply for in-state residency for fall semester
Monday, October 14   No classes - Indigenous Peoples Day break
Tuesday, October 15   No classes - Indigenous Peoples Day break
Wednesday, October 16   Midterm grades due 11:30 p.m.
Monday, October 21   Winter 2020, Spring 2020 course advisement begins
Friday, November 1   Winter 2020, Spring 2020 course advisement ends.
Last date of unrestricted withdrawal from full-semester courses
Tuesday, November 26   Classes end 10 p.m. - Thanksgiving break
Wednesday, November 27   Residence halls close noon
Sunday, December 1   Residence halls open noon
Monday, December 2   Classes resume
Saturday, December 7   Final Week begins
Friday, December 13   Fall semester ends noon
Saturday, December 14   Commencement 10 a.m.
Residence halls close at 10 a.m. except for graduating seniors 5 p.m.
Wednesday, December 18   Final grades due noon

Winter Session 2020

Tuesday, December 24   Online courses only (5 weeks)
Wednesday, December 25   No classes Christmas Day observed
Wednesday, January 1   No classes New Year’s Day observed
Monday, January 6   Other courses (3 weeks)
Monday, January 20   No classes Martin Luther King Day
Friday, January 24   Winter session ends
Wednesday, January 29   Final grades due (4:00 pm)

Spring Semester 2020

Saturday, January 25   Residence halls open 11 a.m.
Sunday, January 26   New student advising and registration 10 a.m.
Monday, January 27   Spring semester classes begin
Sunday, February 2   Spring 2020 add/drop ends 11:30 p.m.
Friday, February 21   Last day to apply for in-state residency for Spring 2020 semester
Friday, March 13   Classes end 10 p.m. - spring break
Saturday, March 14   Residence halls close noon
Sunday, March 22   Residence halls open noon
Monday, March 23   Classes resume
Wednesday, March 25   Midterm grades due 11:30 p.m.
Monday, March 30   Summer and Fall 2020 course advisement begins
Friday, April 10   Summer and Fall 2020 course advisement ends
Last day of unrestricted withdrawal from full-semester courses
Saturday, May 9   Final Week begins
Thursday, May 16   Branch campus commencement 7 p.m.
Friday, May 15   Spring semester ends 6 p.m.
Saturday, May 16   Commencement 9 a.m. and 2 p.m., check online schedule
Residence halls close 10 a.m. for all students except graduating seniors 5 p.m.
Wednesday, May 20   Final grades due noon

Summer Semester 2020

Summer Session A (May 26 - June 5)

Monday, May 25   Memorial Day (no classes)
Tuesday, May 26   Classes begin
Friday, June 5   Summer Session A ends
Wednesday, June 10   Final grades due noon

Summer Session B (June 8 - July 10)

Monday, June 8   Classes begin
Saturday, July 4   Independence Day (no classes)
Friday, July 10   Summer Session B ends
Wednesday, July 15   Final grades due noon

Summer Session C (July 13 - August 14)

Monday, July 13   Classes begin
Friday, August 14   Summer Session C ends
Wednesday, August 29   Final grades due noon

 

FALL SEMESTER SPRING SEMESTER
Total # of days (instructional or exam)
Monday - Friday 15 each = 75
Saturday 1
Total # of days (instructional or exam)
Monday - Friday 15 each = 75
Saturday 1