May 20, 2018  
2017-2018 Undergraduate/Graduate Catalog 
  
2017-2018 Undergraduate/Graduate Catalog

Academic Calendar



For a more detailed listing, see the Official SUNY Plattsburgh Academic Calendar 

Fall Semester 2017

Saturday, August 26   Residence halls open 8 a.m.
Sunday, August 27   New student advising and registration 10 a.m.
Fall 2017 add/drop for continuing students begins 5:15 p.m.
Non-matriculated student registration reopens 6:00 p.m.
Monday, August 28   Fall semester classes begin
Sunday, September 3   Fall 2017 course add/drop ends 11:30 p.m.
Monday, September 4   Labor Day (classes in session)
Friday, September 22   Last day to apply for in-state residency for fall semester
Monday, October 9   No classes - Fall Break
Tuesday, October 10   No classes - Fall Break
Wednesday, October 18   Midterm grades due 11:30 p.m.
Monday, October 23   Winter 2018, Spring 2018 course advisement begins
Friday, November 3   Winter 2018, Spring 2018 course advisement ends.
Last date of unrestricted withdrawal from full-semester courses
Tuesday, November 21   Classes end 10 p.m. - Thanksgiving break
Wednesday, November 22   Residence halls close noon
Sunday, November 26   Residence halls open noon
Monday, November 27   Classes resume
Saturday, December 9   Final Week begins
Friday, December 15   Fall semester ends noon
Saturday, December 16   Commencement 10 a.m.
Residence halls close at 10 a.m. except for graduating seniors 5 p.m.
Wednesday, December 20   Final grades due noon

Winter Session 2018

December 18 - January 19   Online courses only (5 weeks)
Monday, December 25   No classes Christmas Day observed
Monday, January 1   No classes New Year’s Day observed
January 2 - January 19   Other courses (3 weeks)
Monday, January 15   No classes Martin Luther King Day
Wednesday, January 24   Final grades due 4 p.m.

Spring Semester 2018

Saturday, January 27   Residence halls open 11 a.m.
Sunday, January 28   New student advising and registration 10 a.m.
Monday, January 29   Spring semester classes begin
Sunday, February 4   Spring 2018 add/drop ends 11:30 p.m.
Friday, February 23   Last day to apply for in-state residency for Fall 2018 semester
Friday, March 9   Classes end 10 p.m. - spring break
Saturday, March 10   Residence halls close noon
Sunday, March 18   Residence halls open noon
Monday, March 19   Classes resume
Wednesday, March 21   Midterm grades due 11:30 p.m.
Monday, March 26   Summer and Fall 2018 course advisement begins
Friday, April 6   Summer and Fall 2018 course advisement ends
Last day of unrestricted withdrawal from full-semester courses
Saturday, May 12   Final Week begins
Thursday, May 17   Branch campus commencement 7 p.m.
Friday, May 18   Spring semester ends 6 p.m.
Saturday, May 19   Commencement 9 a.m. and 2 p.m., check online schedule
Residence halls close 10 a.m. for all students except graduating seniors 5 p.m.
Wednesday, May 23   Final grades due noon

Summer Semester 2018

Summer Session A (May 29 - June 8)

Monday, May 28   Memorial Day (no classes)
Tuesday, May 29   Classes begin
Friday, June 8   Summer Session A ends
Wednesday, June 13   Final grades due noon

Summer Session B (June 11 - July 13)

Monday, June 11   Classes begin
Wednesday, July 4   Independence Day (no classes)
Friday, July 13   Summer Session B ends
Wednesday, July 18   Final grades due noon

Summer Session B (July 16 - August 17)

Monday, July 16   Classes begin
Friday, August 17   Summer Session C ends
Wednesday, August 22   Final grades due noon

Dates are subject to change. Check calendar information at plattsburgh.edu/academics/calendar

FALL SEMESTER SPRING SEMESTER
Total # of days (instructional or exam)
Monday - Friday 15 each = 75
Saturday 1
Total # of days (instructional or exam)
Monday - Friday 15 each = 75
Saturday 1